(Sow's Ear Antiques) This was the first of six houses erected by members of the Crocker family. Its owner was Ebenezer Crocker, the father and grandfather of the original occupants of the remaining houses. Crocker's arrival from West Barnstable in 1739 marked the beginnings of the village of Cotuit. This house was brought from the Great Marshes (West Barnstable) and placed on its current foundation in Cotuit.
The house remained in the family until the early 20th century mainly as a private residence at one time housing a tea room. It is currently the Sow's Ear Antiques Shop.
4676 Falmouth Road Zenas Crocker House 1782
(Cahoon Museum) This is the third of six houses built at the intersection of Falmouth Road and Main Street built by the Crocker Family. Zenas was the fifth son of Ebenezer, the founder of this Cotuit family. Following Zenas' death, the house after several transactions was left to Ezra Crocker. In 1821, Ezra opened a tavern and lodging for travelers as a stopping point between Sandwich and Barnstable. Until the 1920s the house remained under Crocker ownership until being purchased by Frank Handy and then the renowned Cape artists Ralph and Martha Cahoon as a studio and antiques shop. After Ralph's death in 1982, Rosemary Rapp purchased the house with the future Cahoon Museum in mind. By 1984 the museum was running and showcasing the Cahoon's artwork and early 19-20th century American artwork. Since then it has remained the Cahoon Museum and is currently undergoing a major renovation to expand the museum around the historic home.
4631 Falmouth Road Roland T. Crocker House 1796
(Villagio at the Regatta) This house was built for Roland Thatcher Crocker (1772-1846), the son of Alvan Crocker. Roland was the grandson of Ebenezer Crocker, Jr. the first settler in the village of Cotuit. Shortly after its construction it became the home of Cotuit's first library. In 1821, a Post Office was established in this building and functioned there from 1821-1846 with Roland as Postmaster. By 1855 it was being used as a tavern by J. Folger.
Since then it has been used as a summer cottage, a gift shop, and since 1983, a restaurant.
4632 Falmouth Road Zenas Crocker (III) House c. 1860
(Isaiah Thomas Used and Rare Books) This house was built for one of the many Zenas Crockers who descended from the earliest settlers of Santuit. Zenas had been to California during the Gold Rush, but soon afterward settled in the mid-west and ran a general store there for years. In 1860 he returned to Cotuit and built this house, which was a most modern one for the times. The grounds were landscaped and with a curving drive at the front. A unique item was the long bathtub he had installed. It was an innovation in the village. The statue of a deer on the lawn was also unusual.
Since being owned by the Crockers, this house has been used as a summer house, real estate office, funeral home, upscale women's apparel store, and since 1990, the Isaiah Thomas Book Shop.